Tags

, , ,

0vwfuVL.jpg

I realize that I have neglected this little blog for some time. Last time I checked in, I just finished moving back to Missouri after nearly a decade in Los Angeles. So here I am. Summer has gone, my room is currently freezing, and the second book of the Cloudkicker Series is well underway.

I wish I had more news to report, but that is perhaps why I have failed to check in. No one is really interested in reading “Well, I had toast today. It was extra buttery. Quite Good A+.”

That said, there have been a few updates for those interested! Perhaps the biggest is that The Sky Thief has now changed distributors. Originally, the book was published via CreateSpace through my publisher, Dreamwire Press. I have since moved on to IngramSpark and love it quite a bit. One of the big factors in this decision was the ability to create Returns for copies of the book. For authors who wish to create print copies of their books, allowing returns on books is one of the single biggest factors in getting copies on shelves in major retailers (and many small ones)! In fact, it was the first thing they asked at my local Barnes and Noble when I wanted to set up a Local Author signing: “Is the book returnable?”

So, going forward, I may be using a bit of a hybrid between CreateSpace and Ingram. IngramSpark will cost more, and has a very high sales threshhold if you want to use their flagship company instead of spark (I think it’s $250k or so), but it is well worth it if you intend to put the book in places other than online retailers.

Beyond that, I have been plucking away at Book Two. I intend to put up a sample chapter here soon to give people a taste of what to expect. As of now, I’m about 54k out of an 80k goal, and increasing each day. I’m hoping for a May/June release, possibly sooner. We’ll see how it goes.

Until then!

-Wes

The Sky Thief is available for order at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other retailers near you!

