Tags

, , , , , , , ,

img_3718

I have never been the biggest fan of winter. I am very much of the opinion that weather should not physically hurt you, and so I moved to California to escape it. Now that I am back in Missouri and dealing with my first real cold weather in close to a decade, I’ve had to make several adjustments. For those unaware, Missouri weather is unpredictable, at best, and temperature spikes and drops of 30+ degrees in a single day are not uncommon. Above is a photo of freezing rain, which is not sleet nor snow. Rather, it’s normal rain on a normal warm day, but a cold snap will move through and essentially freeze any standing water before it has a chance to evaporate. It looks rather pretty on trees but is much less fun to drive through black ice conditions it causes.

Cold weather is an excuse to stay indoors and get some work done, however. I’m hard at work on finishing this next book. I’m working on setting up a few new avenues for readers to purchase it, with iBooks likely being the largest of them. I’ve got a wonderful friend who I am hoping will be designing the cover, and he is very good at design, indeed.

The biggest plan so far, however, is a return to school. I’ve always told people that I have lived a very interesting life, but not necessarily a very successful one. I may have some fun stories, but I don’t really recommend dropping everything to move to Los Angeles with less than $1000 to your name and no job waiting for you. So, to rectify this, some ten years after the fact, I’ll be returning to Southeast Missouri State University with a focus on English-Writing.

I’m a bit excited for the chance, but also ready to just get the whole thing done with. I’m not sure what opportunities having such a degree will open, but I’m certain it will be more than not having a degree. I’m also hoping it may give me a few more ideas outside of the Cloudkicker Trilogy to keep the writing juices flowing in downtime.

Going back to school is going to be a little weird, I admit. I’ve done a few classes at community colleges, but those are always a bit of an exception, schools oriented towards non-traditional students. Going to an actual state school is bound to be rife with generational divide in my classes as I sit around and wonder at what the culture of people ten years younger than myself are like. But, on the same time, it’ll be somewhat exciting too. Maybe it’s the journalist in me, but I like being around people and pressing into new social norms.

In any case, we’ll see how things go. Right now, I’m focused solely on getting to that 80k word mark for my readers, and classes for the summer should start right as the book releases in June.

Mostly, though, I’m just ready for the warmer weather again.

-Wes

The Sky Thief is now available for order at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major retailers!

